Frequently Asked Questions
Why is TechLaunch Academy resuming face-to-face instruction? As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic COVID-19 in March 2020 the Student Veteran Coronavirus Response Act of 2020 allowed non-college degree-granting (NCD) schools like TechLaunch Academy to provide training in an online modality. That legislation is set to expire on June 1, 2022. TechLaunch Academy will have no authorization to continue online instruction beyond June 1, 2022.
Where do TechLaunch Academy COVID-19 guidelines come from? These guidelines originate from the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). TechLaunch Academy will monitor CDC and other guidelines to ensure we are following the most recent guidelines. Note: TechLaunch Academy provides service to the federal government and federal guidelines may apply in some circumstances.
Students and team members are receiving information from many sources: CDC, social media, family, personal doctor, etc. How do we know which guidelines to follow? While on campus, students and team members should follow TechLaunch Academy guidelines.
Are masks required while on campus? While masks are not required, the use of masks is recommended.
Are there any restrictions related to face coverings? Yes. Students and team members are not permitted to wear face coverings that have markings that are suggestive, revealing, indecent, associated with political parties, gangs, or cults, encourage the use of drugs, alcohol, or violence, or support discrimination.
Is TechLaunch Academy requiring vaccinations for students or team members? No. Students and team members are not required to provide vaccinations. This is subject to change based on federal, state, or local requirements.
Is TechLaunch Academy providing vaccines for students or team members? No. Students and team members who wish to be vaccinated should contact local health providers.
Do I need to practice distancing while on campus? Distancing is recommended while on campus, even vaccinated should practice distancing.
What are the distancing requirements? CDC guidelines recommend 3-feet of distancing.
Do I need to practice distancing if I wear my mask? Yes, it is recommended that individuals wear a mask AND practice distancing.
If an individual tests positive for COVID-19, does the individual need a negative COVID-19 test in order to return to campus? No, students no longer need a negative test to return to class. They are required to stay home 5 days from the onset of symptoms. They are able to return to class after the 5th day providing they are fever-free.
When can a negative COVID-19 test be used for return? If an individual is sent home due to COVID- 19 symptoms and has no known exposure to individuals with COVID-19, the individual can return with a negative PCR test when symptoms have subsided and fever-free for 24 hours without the aid of medicine.
Can a home COVID test be used to return to campus? No. Home tests are not allowed. Only tests conducted by an authorized medical facility that clearly shows the date of the test, the name, and the date of birth of the individual who tested can be used.
Where do the COVID-19 return guidelines come from? These guidelines originate from the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). TechLaunch Academy will monitor CDC and other officials to ensure we are following the most recent guidelines.
What counts as a COVID-19 case? A case is someone who tests positive for COVID-19.
What counts as close contact/exposure? Close contact/exposure: Someone who was within 6 feet of an infected person for at least 15 minutes starting from 2 days before illness onset (or, for asymptomatic patients, 2 days prior to specimen collection) until the time the patient is isolated.